Four Faculty Members Honored by College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

March 15, 2017

Curtiss HallOn March 9, the Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences presented awards to faculty and staff. Of the nearly two dozen honorees, four are faculty for the Graduate Program in Sustainable Agriculture. The award winners, who each won $500, include:

Clark Ford (Food Science and Human Nutrition) received the Distance Education Teaching Award. Ford has taught a world food issues class since 1997. The class requires students to critically examine problems surrounding food issues throughout the world.

Director of Graduate Education Mary Wiedenhoeft (Agronomy) received the Outstanding Adviser Award. Wiedenhoeft is known for her commitment to students. Her welcoming personality, dedication and advising skills draws in students. Even the parents of her students know and remember her for her warmth and sincerity.

Associate professor Alison Robertson (Plant Pathology and Microbiology) received the Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Outreach Award. Robertson leads an innovative extension program and her efforts benefit Iowa farmers. Her recommendations to control Pythium diseases in corn and soybeans save Iowa farmers more than $10 million annually.

Associate professor Kurt Rosentrater (Agricultural & Biosystems Engineering) received the Team Award for his work with the Bioplastics for the Green Industry Team. This interdisciplinary team has made significant contributions through research, extension and graduate education to improve the sustainability of specialty crop production and recently developed a sustainable technology that replaces petroleum-based plastics with ones made from biorenewable materials. Their work will help sustain high-value specialty crop producers, reduce environmental impacts and create entrepreneurial opportunities. Rosentrater shared the honor with his team members: William Graves, associate dean of the graduate college; Chris Currey, an assistant professor of horticulture; David Grewell, professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering; Darren Jarboe, program manager with the Center for Crops Utilization Research; and James Schrader, associate scientist in horticulture.